top of page
Latoya's biography picture_edited.png

Latoya Johnson, B.A., SLPA
Speech-Language Pathologist Assistant

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some
compassion, some humor, and some style"

My name is Latoya Johnson. I was born and raised in Jamaica, and I speak a dialect called
Patwa. I am a military spouse and a mother of two children. The majority of my experience
working with individuals with Communication and/or Swallowing Disorders has centered on my
daughter. She was born with a congenital heart defect that has required six heart surgeries. The
intubation required for surgery left one of her vocal cords paralyzed. I understand
the importance of early intervention, patience, and being an advocate. I have attended countless
therapy sessions and IEP meetings. Furthermore, my exposure to SLP has compelled me to
continually improve my communication skills and methods. However, this knowledge did not
come solely through personal experience with my daughter. I have had the opportunity to
observe numerous Speech Pathologists over the last nine years. Replicating my observances and
including them in my approach has led to significant improvement in my ability to analyze
speech patterns and recognize areas that may need to be addressed. I am able to employ
techniques within a child’s zone of proximal development and teach in a manner that keeps
children’s engaged and motivated to learn tasks. Assertive and supportive care leads to desired
change and improvements not just within speech, but in social and academic skills as well. In
2021, I graduated from San Diego State University with two bachelor's degrees. One in Speech
Language Hearing Sciences and Child Development. I earned a spot on the dean's list for one
year. While attending San Diego State, I volunteered at numerous schools throughout the San
Diego Unified school district. I was an active member of Alpha Gamma Delta and SDSU
National Student Speech Language Hearing Association. My role as an active member was to
attend and assist with fundraising events. Bringing awareness and educating the community in
which I served on the differences and struggles that families face on a daily basis. In my free
time I enjoy exercising, swimming and attending sports events with my family.

bottom of page